Outstanding Alumni Awards Previous Winners

2021 Winners

2021 Alumnus Award2021 Young Alumnus Award
Dr Joss O'Loan (GT 2000)Dr Oliver Canfell (GT 2011)
Dr Joss O'Loan is one of the co-founders of the Kombi Clinic - a mobile Hepatitis C clinic that has been delivering life-saving information and treatment to the greater Brisbane area since 2017. The Kombi Clinic visits alcohol and drug rehab centres, homeless shelters, public parks, and other locations to discuss the risks of Hepatitis C, collect blood samples, counsel patients and administer treatment.Dr Oliver Canfell is a postdoctoral researcher, Accredited Practising Dietitian (APD) and transdisciplinary leader in the field of health. Oliver was awarded his PhD in November 2020 which developed i-PATHWAY, a clinical model that predicts childhood obesity from the first 1,000 days to help guide its prevention.

2015 Winners

2015 Alumnus Award2015 Young Alumnus Award
A. John Toohey (GT 1964)Nicholas Marchesi (GT 2011) & Lucas Patchett (GT 2011)
John Toohey is a professor, higher education consultant, previous International Dean and business school head. He has also been a feature writer for the Australian Financial Review Boss magazine.Nicholas and Lucas co-founded Orange Sky, an innovative laundry service providing free laundry pods and shower vans to homeless people across Australia as well as a place for genuine conversation and connection with the homeless.

2014 Winners

2014 Alumnus Award2014 Young Alumnus Award
David Conry (GT 1986)Jason Roberts (GT 1994)
David Conry is the co-founder of YoungCare and was awarded the 2007 Queensland Australian of the Year and the 2009 Queensland Social Entrepreneur of the Year. He recognised the difficulty of young adults with disabilities being forced to live in aged care nursing homes facilities and wanted to create change for young people with high care needs.Professor Roberts is the National Health and Medical Research Council Career Development Fellow at the University of Queensland and Pharmacist Consultant at the Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital. Not only does Professor Roberts hold roles on numerous guideline committees, but he also led several international pharmacokinetic studies.

2013 Winners

2013 Alumnus Award2013 Young Alumnus Award
Anthony Ryan (GT 1987)Timothy Beckman (GT 2006)
Anthony Ryan is the CEO of YoungCare, a not-for-profit organisation creating remarkable change for those with high care needs. Prior to this, Anthony was CEO of the Edmund Rice Foundation and has been working in the not-for-profit sector for over 10 years.Tim Beckman was a founding member of Ubuntu Through Health. The organisation promotes positive health results in developing regions as well as health equality both in Australia and overseas.